The Psychiatrist

Psychiatry News & Opinion Portal

MP PSYCON-2019 Concludes at Ujjain


UJJAIN: Indian Psychiatric Society Madhya Pradesh Branch held its annual conference “MP-PSYCON-2019” at Ujjain on 29th & 30 June 2019. This year’s conference featured the theme on “Addiction Corridors of Substance Use – Reward to Reprimand” and drew over 80 psychiatrists & post-graduate scholars from entire Madhya Pradesh to present their research papers and participate in theme-related presentations in a total of six sessions.

The conference started with warm welcome remarks made by Dr. Ruma Bhattacharya, outgoing President of the society, which was immediately followed by the opening session by Dr. Sagar Karia, Assistant Professor LTM Medical College Sion Mumbai on “Unusual Addictions”. Dr. Adarsh Tripathi, Associate Professor KGMC Lucknow, presented an intriguing session on “Behavioral Addiction”. Professor & HOD LTM Medical College Sion Mumbai, Dr. Neelesh Shah‘s session “Hypersexuality cases in Clinical Practice” discussed pragmatic approach to the cases. A very interactive session on “Mental Health Care Act-2017” was delivered by Dr. Rajeev Jain, Senior Consultant Psychiatrist Sagar. Dr. Vinay Kumar, Senior Consultant Psychiatrist Patna, gave a captivating lecture on “Creativity & Mental Health”. Dr. Shilpa Adarkar, Associate Professor KEM Hospital Mumbai, delivered guest lecture on “Newer Psychoactive Substances”. New President of the society Dr. Abhay Jain, Professor & HOD R.D. Gardi Medical College Ujjain, delivered his lecture on “Addiction Past Present & Future”.

Dr. Adarsh Tripathi
Dr. Nilesh Shah
Dr. Vinay Kumar
Dr. Sagar Karia
Dr. Shilpa Adarkar

Smt. Kuntala Chatterjee Best Paper Award was won jointly by Dr. Savita Patel from MGM Medical College Indore & Dr. Madhukar Shukla from RD Gardi Medical College Ujjain.

Best Poster was awarded to Dr. Seema Anis from Index Medical College Indore & Dr. (Major) Samhita Bhushan from RD Gardi Medical College Ujjain was runner-up.

Poster Presentation

Dr. Tarun Ghosh Memorial Undergraduate Quiz was won by Miss Foziya Multani and Miss Suchita Jain from Index Medical College Indore. Miss Almas Khan & Miss Maanvi Mukherjee from RD Gardi Medical College Ujjain and Mr. Mukesh Kumar & Mr. Shubham Tyagi from People’s Medical College Bhopal were joint runner-ups.

UG Quiz

The conference culminated with a special debate on “Should Cannabis be Legalized in India” with Dr. Nilesh Shah & Dr. (Major) Samhita Bhushan for the motion and Dr. Shashank Raikwar & Dr. Sagar Karia against the motion.


Annual General Body meeting held during the conference elected Dr. Rajeev Jain as Vice-President, Dr. Manish Borasi as General Secretary, Dr. Vaibhav Dubey as Treasurer, Dr. Ramghulam Razdan as Editor, Dr. O.P. Raichandani as Scientific Committee Chairperson & Dr. Raman Sharma as Co-Chairperson. Dr. Pawan Rathi, Dr. Parag Dhoble, Dr. Ashutosh Singh & Dr. Vijay Niranjan were elected as Executive Members.

Dr. S.K. Tandon, Dr. Rajni Chatterjee, Dr. Ashok Dagaria, Dr. R.S. Bhati, Dr. Ratnesh Kurariya, Dr. Koushtub Bagul, Dr. Naresh Solanki were the other eminent members of the society present during the conference


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.